Home Economy Claudia Goldin wins Nobel economics prize for women’s labor market study

Claudia Goldin wins Nobel economics prize for women’s labor market study

Claudia Goldin wins Nobel economics prize for women’s labor market study

The Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences was awarded Monday to Claudia Goldin, a professor at Harvard University, for advancing understanding of girls’s labor market outcomes.

Goldin is simply the third lady to win the prize, which was introduced by Hans Ellegren, secretary-general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, in Stockholm.

“Understanding ladies’s function within the labor market is vital for society. Thanks to Claudia Goldin’s groundbreaking analysis, we now know way more in regards to the underlying components and which obstacles could must be addressed sooner or later,” mentioned Jakob Svensson, chair of the Committee for the Prize in Economic Sciences.

It follows the awards in medication, physics, chemistry, literature and peace that have been introduced final week.

The economics award was created in 1968 by Sweden’s central financial institution and is formally referred to as the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

Last 12 months’s winners have been former Federal Reserve (Fed) Chair Ben Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond and Philip Dybvig for his or her analysis into financial institution failures that helped form America’s aggressive response to the 2007-2008 monetary disaster.

Only two of the 92 economics laureates honored have been ladies.

Every week in the past, Hungarian-American Katalin Kariko and American Drew Weissman received the Nobel Prize in medication. The physics prize went Tuesday to French-Swedish physicist Anne L’Huillier, French scientist Pierre Agostini and Hungarian-born Ferenc Krausz.

U.S. scientists Moungi Bawendi, Louis Brus and Alexei Ekimov received the chemistry prize on Wednesday. They have been adopted by Norwegian author Jon Fosse, who was awarded the prize for literature. And on Friday, jailed Iranian activist Narges Mohammadi received the peace prize.

The prizes are handed out at awards ceremonies in December in Oslo and Stockholm. They carry a money award of 11 million Swedish kronor (about $1 million). Winners additionally obtain an 18-carat gold medal and diploma.

The Daily Sabah Newsletter

Keep updated with what’s taking place in Turkey,
it’s area and the world.

You can unsubscribe at any time. By signing up you’re agreeing to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
This web site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Source: www.dailysabah.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here